Get to know Rachel Carmack

Rachel Carmack

The fanciful Eiffel Tower photo comes from Volunteer State Community College’s admission adviser, Rachel Carmack.

Carmack is a Vol State graduate, originally from Bethpage.  After earning her associate’s degree in communication, she attended UT Knoxville to complete her bachelor’s in advertising, according to the Vol State website.

She had worked in Vol State’s academic affairs office while a student.  After her return from Knoxville, she returned to the school, with a position in records and registration.  For just over three years, Carmack has worked in the admissions office.

“I loved working for Vol State when I was a student here—it really is a great place to work, with great people to work with.  I chose to apply for the admissions adviser position because I could use more of the skills I developed in the advertising program at UT.

“This field allows me to use those creative approaches I like so much, while helping people get to a better quality of life,” she said.

Carmack serves on the school’s scholarship and awards committee and lends her voice to the faculty and staff holiday caroling group, unofficially known as Holly & the Mistletoes.

When off campus, Carmack said that she loves shopping and interior design.

Carmack’s parents have been married for 39 years.  She also has two sisters, a brother-in-law, a “nephew cat” named Roland, and a dog named Charlotte, who is often called Charlotte O’Hara “because she’s so dramatic.”

Carmack is a fan of fantasy-based television as well.  She cites “Buffy the Vampire Slayer” and “Vampire Diaries” as favorites.

“My new obsession is ‘Once Upon a Time.’ I highly recommend it,” she said.

The photo is one that Carmack herself took while on a trip to Paris.

The trip was a graduation gift from her parents.

“My family surprised me at my graduation dinner with a little Monet watercolor notecard that said they were giving me a trip to London and Paris for graduation!  I couldn’t believe it, because I had always wanted to travel there,” she said.

Her sister, Jessica, traveled with her.  They have since been to Mexico, Ireland, and Germany together.

“When we arrived at our hotel room in Paris, we pulled back the curtains and there it was, the Eiffel Tower, straight ahead, in all its glittering glory.”

Later, Carmack added the pink tint, giving the photo its surreal appearance.

Carmack can be reached in the office of admissions at 615-230 – 3688.

Leave a Reply

